Answer Me This: 4th of July

One of my favorite-est Catholic mom bloggers, Kendra from Catholic All Year, is doing a fun weekly link-up for the summer, and since I love answering questions and talking about anything nonsensical, I will play along 🙂

1: How did you celebrate the 4th of July?

Husband and I put the finishing touches on our house-painting project. We screwed on the shutters and painted the front steps. No joke, y’all, we painted the entire house by hand in this past month…two coats of primer, two coats of paint on the walls, two coats of paint on the trim and eaves, two coats of paint on the shutters and doors, and two coats on the front steps. The two of us with our four hands. In June/July. In Central Florida. For those of you not in the know…it averages about 96 degrees with about 120% humidity. It rains in torrents every afternoon and we have bugs the size of your hand. Pictures cannot do us justice…you really would have had to seen the old beige/pinkish paint peeling off and the obscene amount of cobwebs in person to understand how very fresh and new this is. Plus, we had the whole house stuccoed ($1,700!!!!!! WHAT A STEAL!!!!), so you cannot see the lines of the cinderblocks anymore.  We capped off our productive day with spreading a blanket on the church lawn at St. Ann’s and watching the fireworks over Lake Eva while eating street tacos. Awesome.

Before: Terrible beige peeling off of cinderblock walls

Before: Terrible beige peeling off of cinderblock walls

After: Needs landscaping, but 100% better. Stucco, moss green paint and dark peacock blue shutters and door

After: Needs landscaping, but 100% better. Stucco, moss green paint and dark peacock blue shutters and door

After: take 2.  It is really coming along!

After: take 2. It is really coming along!

2: Do you sunburn easily?

Huh. Do I ever. I have a creamy English skin with a smattering of freckles across my nose and on my shoulders. I never, ever, ever tan. I burn within the span of 5 minutes and then peel two days later. A whole body peel, like a snake. It is the worst because I can see it on the end of my nose and it grosses me out when I change clothes and my skin comes off with my shirt. Once, while snorkeling…actually twice, once in Key West and once in Cozumel…I burned my backside so badly that I could not sit on my bottom for two days, just had to lay on my belly. I could slather on sunscreen every twenty minutes and it simply would not matter. So sad–especially as tan fat looks better than white fat. I could totally fool you into thinking I was skinny.

My back after snorkeling in Cozumel. :-( It is even more painful than it looks

My back after snorkeling in Cozumel. 😦 It is even more painful than it looks

3: Hot dogs, yay or nay?

YAY!!!!!!!!!!!! I love hot dogs grilled or fried, alone and single, or piled high. Covered in cornbread and dipped in honey, nothing tastes better for love or money. Beer-braised and covered in salsa, smothered in mac and cheese, or in la parrillada, slathered in mustard, or covered in slaw–I could eat my weight in ’em, y’all! Bathe in barbecue and crumbled chips, nothing so good ever touched your lips. New York, Chicago, or Coney Island style–a good hot dog makes your tummy smile! 🙂

4: Have you ever personally set off fireworks?

No. I have handled sparklers, but as a general rule, I am afraid to handle fire.  The summer we were married, my husband crossed the county line and brought in contraband fireworks and set them off in his father’s pasture, launching them from PVC pipes. One of them melted the PVC pipe and exploded sideways, on the ground instead of launching into the air. Shrapnel and fire flew everywhere. Somehow we all knew to hit the ground and my 4 year old nephew yelled explicatives to our horror and amusement. I honestly thought I was a widowed-bride until I heard my husband’s laugh out of the darkness. This year, he set off some chasers and one went backwards and chased him…and blew up directly beside him. When I was little, my dad lit a flower bomb and my protective hound dog stamped it out with her feet, crying in fear and pain, but determined to rescue her owner. Pobrecita…she was nursed and coddled and forever locked up when we lit them off again.  Nah…I am just good watching them.

5: Have you ever jumped off the high dive?

No…we have always owned a pool, so I can count the number of times on one hand that I have ever been in a public pool. We never had a diving board. What I have done is jump off the high rock at Juniper Springs and plunged into the freezing (72 degrees is plenty cold enough, anyway) water. I have jumped from rope swings into the water and have been dumped from many a jet-ski. I also have been knee-boarding. Hopefully those count for something 🙂

6: Do you do anything weird in your sleep?

I can carry an entire conversation in my sleep. My mom always said she would wait until I was asleep if she wanted to get a truthful answer out of me. I also stay in one position…I literally do not move once I am asleep, and wake in the exact same position I fell asleep in.

There you have it! That was fun, maybe I will play along next week, too. Until then, back to our regularly scheduled programming.  I am super excited to have the opportunity to contribute to an upcoming online Catholic “magazine” type website–more on that later. I also am getting into the thick of things with my CHRP ladies at Saint Matthew’s…if you are local or visiting Winter Haven the first weekend in October, save the date and come on out…we have big things planned. House projects aplenty are looming, so expect some more DIY stuff in the near future AND my lovely baby sister is getting married soon, so there is lots of planning for that, too!  God bless!

Visit Kendra’s blog–hers is super-awesome and hilarious–and link up to answer her fun questions, or answer them in the comment section here or there!

2 thoughts on “Answer Me This: 4th of July

  1. Janie your home looks awesome I am sure every time you pull up to the house after a hard days work you look at it and smile. Painting and home projects are wonderful marital bonding moments. My husband and I have been doing home projects for 29 years and I couldn’t think of a better person to ask for help to create things when I am looking at Pinterest.

    Liked by 1 person

    • I have a Pinterest board just for him, lol. He thought it was weird to set up his own Pinterest, so he just uses mine and puts projects in a little queue for himself. And I make many, many more for him. I tell you, projects like this will make or break your marriage. You learn a lot about patience and when to take a step back. He knows not to criticize me, even lightly, when I am hot, tired, or hungry. I know he expects me to be RIGHT THERE when he needs something, lol. I love working with him, though.

      Like

Leave a Reply

